News Updates

IMG_3599I was born on Friday, July 27 1987 in Ikoyi, Lagos state in Nigeria. I was born to the family of Late Chief Owen Vinuyon Akoro (June 28 1933- December 23 2013) a renowned and successful public administrator in Lagos state. Chief O.V. Akoro was a Commissioner of the Lagos State Service Commission under the administration of Colonel Mohammed Buba Marwa.

I am from a polygamous home but grew in a monogamous setting. I am the penultimate child of his parents and have only one younger brother.

I am a human rights activist, very passionate about the lives of people especially young people and other marginalised community. I have a track record in an inclusive advocacy for the rights of people on the grounds of sexual orientation and gender identity.

In 2006, a group of concerned young people and I worked together to establish an organisation (registered as The Initiative for Equal Rights) and I began the leadership of the organisation at the age of 19. On the 30th August 2012, I resigned from this position being the Executive Director of the organisations in quest to purse other ambition in my life.

I am a graduate of Politics and International Relation from Lead City University situated in Ibadan, Oyo state (South west) Nigeria. I am bilingual having learnt French at the Institute d’Études Franciases pour Etudiants Etrangers- an affiliate institute to the University of Aix-Marseille situated in Aix-en-Provence (South-east) France. I bagged a Masters degree in Global Diplomacy from the School of Oriental and African Studies of University of London.

I established a consulting group after his departure from TIER. The group is called JSA Consulting Group ( I am currently working as an Associate Project Officer at the Intangible Cultural Heritage section of UNESCO.

I like to do a variety of things for leisure. When I choose to enjoy nature, I like to go up the mountains and to the sea. I like to walk in the forest, where I enjoy good meditations and have a very close touch with my body, soul and spirit. I like to read books and enjoy writing from time to time. I crave to do sport more and more but at the moment, I do nothing but go to the gym. When I am not at the gym, I am in a park, running. I like to swim but still learning to be a good swimmer. I love arts and music as well.

It might also be interesting to know that I enjoy a lot my moments of solitude. Moments, I stay in with myself, speak with me, play with me, watch youtube, laugh to jokes and listen to the quietness around me. Perhaps, this may give a hint that I like to live in the country-side. It is just the ideal for me.

I am single at the moment, no pet neither, gallivanting the world and maybe one day I will decide with whom and where I might want to spend the rest of my life. Nonetheless, at the moment, I am in a discovery mode.


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: